News New Cosmetology & Barbering Regulations Effective June 1, 2019
- Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering
NEW REGULATIONS IN EFFECT JUNE 1, 2019
New regulations for the Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering (“Board”) went into effect on June 1, 2019. They include significant changes to the Board’s licensing rules and processes. All fees will remain the same for the time being.
An official set of the new regulations is available here: https://www.mass.gov/lists/statutes-and-regulations-cosmetology-and-barbering
The following is an overview of the new regulatory changes:
Elimination of Two-Tier Licensing:
- Two-tier Cosmetology licensing is eliminated. Type-2 Operator licenses have all of the same permissions as a Type-1 Cosmetologist license. Both licenses are referred to as a Cosmetologist license. Type-1 upgrade applications are no longer being accepted.
- Two-tier Aesthetics licensing is eliminated. Type-7 Aesthetician licenses have all of the same permissions as a Type-6 Aesthetician license. Both licenses are referred to as an Aesthetician license. Type-6 upgrade applications are no longer being accepted.
- Two-tier Barber licensing is eliminated. Apprentice Barber licenses have all of the same permissions as a Master Barber license. Both licenses are referred to as a Barber license. Master Barber applications are no longer being accepted.
- Supervisory requirements are no longer in effect. Any individual with a valid Cosmetology, Aesthetics, or Barber license can work unsupervised in an appropriately licensed shop.
Discontinuation of Booth Shop and Booth Renter Licenses:
- Booth Renter and Booth Shop licenses have been eliminated. Salon owners do not need a Booth Renter license to rent chairs to individual licensees. Licensed workers do not need a Booth Shop license to rent a chair.
- Salons only need to obtain a Type-1 Cosmetology full-service salon license, Type-3 Manicuring salon license and/or a Type-5 Aesthetics salon license, depending on the services being offered. The salon application can be found here: https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2019/07/09/HD%20Shop%20Application%2BCORI%20Rev07092019.pdf.
Out of State Cosmetology, Aesthetics and Manicuring Applications:
- Applicants holding a current Cosmetology, Aesthetics, or Manicuring license in another state no longer have to take a written or practical exam when applying for a license in Massachusetts. Applicants will need to complete an Out of State application to transfer their license to Massachusetts: https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2019/07/09/HD%20Out%20of%20State%20Application%2BCORI.pdf.
600 Hour Aesthetics Programs:
- On June 1, 2019, the minimum clock hour requirement for Aesthetics programs increased from 300 to 600 hours. Students enrolled in 300 hour programs prior to June 1st can complete their programs and take the licensing examination. Any student enrolling in an Aesthetics program on or after June 1st must enroll in a 600 hour program.
License Display Rules for Shops:
- As of June 1, 2019, all licensees working in a shop will have to display their personal Cosmetology, Aesthetics, Manicuring or Barber license in a location in the shop that is visible to the consumer. A copy of the license can be displayed if the licensee has their original license with them in the shop.
Out of Country Cosmetology, Aesthetics and Manicuring Applications:
- Cosmetology, Aesthetics, or Manicuring license applicants who received their training in other countries may show proof of two years’ work experience to take the licensing examination, and they must pass the written and practical exam.
Out of Country Barber Applications:
- Out of Country Barber applicants will now be required to pass both the written and practical exam. Written exams will be offered in both English and Spanish.